Club History

Club History Page is continuously being updated and organised - if you have any interesting piece of club history (team picture, underage pictures, newspaper articles, match programs etc.) and would like to include them on the site please Contact Us 

Click on a Year to see articles and pictures from that time (click on images to enlarge)

Below is an article write on Knocknagree club history  by John P. Bradley for the match program of the 1989 Duhallow Junior Final

    "There has been a great footballing tradition in the Knocknagree district going back to the last century, and many tales have been told of great games played and trojan deeds done on the fields of play on both sides of the County Bounds. The records show that a knocknagree team competed a the highest level of competition, in the Cork County Senior Football Championship at least once in 1920. Players from the parish are known to have lined out with Cork teams around this period, and one local man, the late Matt Daly of Nohoval won two All- Ireland Junior Football medels with Kerry in 1913 and 1916 as a wing forward. He was then playing with the Rathmore team.

    Knocknagree men played with distinction with various combinations in the 1920's 1930's and 1940's. A combined Cullen-Knocknagree formation won Duhallow Championship in 1936 and 1939 as Cullen, and took "Examiner Cup" as Knocknagree in 1940. As many local players began to impress with other teams in the 1950's and more young talent emerged from the parish leagues, it was decided to field a Knocknagree team in Duhallow Competitions in 1957, and the present club has remained intact since.

    Success was not immediate however, through the team did reach the "Examiner Cup" final in 1958 losing to Glenlara, but made amends against the same opposition in 1962 to take the trophy. That was also the year of the great championship final and replay in Millstreet, which drew record crowds. Kanturk took the title at the second attempt by a narrow margin. Knocknagree took their first championship title in 1966 and more lean years were to follow before a great run of success began in 1975 and culinated with County Junior title in 1984. The Championship was won in 1978,1979,1981,1982,1983, & 1984 giving a totla of six when previous victories are included. The "Nevin Cup" was won in 1975,1977 & 1980 and Under 21 title came for three-in-a-row in 1978,1979 & 1980. The County Final in this grade being narrowly lost to St. Finbarrs in 1978. 

    In this period also came the great achievements pf the Knocknagree - Ballydesmond minor team Pobal Uí Chaoimh Duhallow winners in 1977 and 1978 and the first Duhallow team to go all the way and take County Minor Title in 1978. There are four members of that great side in today's panel. Knocknagree competed in the intermediaye grade in 1985,1986 and 1987 winning the intermediate league in 1985.

    The return to junior ranks was made last year when boherbue proved better in the "Examier Cup" and championship finals. Football has always been the dominate game in this parish, nonetheless some useful hurlers have emerged on the scene over the years. There was a very good hurling team in Knocknagree in the  1920's and early 1030's and a camogie team also. More recently the club reached the Duhallow Novice hurling championship finals on three successive years 1963 and 1964, but victory eluded them on each occasion. 

    Local boy Brendan O' Leary of Knocknagree P.O. won an All-Ireland minor hurling medal with Cork in 1951. He was then a student at Farrenferris Seminary and went to America shortly afterwards

    Many local players have worn the Duhallow Senior Jersey over the years, and indeed some of today's team have played in the County Finals of 1982 and 1988, but that County title still eludes them. Who knows, it might come next month.

    Six of today's team have played with Cork in different grades, winning many honours. Niall O' Connor full forward and Club Chairman heads the list with two under 21 All-Ireland medals 1980-1981, and two junior All-Irelands won in 1984 and this year. He has got two Vocational school All-Ireland trophies with Kerry and Rathmore school in 1977 and 1978 in company with John C. Horan and Donie Kellehar of the present squad.

    Donie Kellehar also won All-Ireland medals at Under 21 in 1981 and Junior in 1984 and like Niall O'Connor also played for Cork at Minor and Senior level. Denny O' Connor won All Ireland junior medals with Cork in 1987 and this year made many senior appearances. Pat O'Connor, the logest serving member of the Knocknagree and Duhallow teams also won al All-Ireland junior medal in 1984, and Donal O'Connor was Cork Junior Captain in 1985

    Knocknagree will today contest it's fourteenth Duhallow Final (including 8 finals in a row - 1977, - 1984 inclusive) The score stands - 7 won and 6 lost.

    The Club purchased it's own grounds in 1981 and the development of Amenities in now in it's final stages

    Gerard O'Connor (Captain), Holder of 6 Duhallow and 1 County Junior Football Championship. Alos holder of Examiner Cup and Nevin Cup Awards and one Intermediate League Medal. Plays fullback on the Duhallow Senior Football Team. Hopes to bring the cup back to Knocknagree for the first time since 1984"