Parish League 2013

The 2013 Parish League took place on St. Stephens day in bright & day weather at Knocknagree GAA grounds. Proceedings kicked off at 12pm with Paud Og Dineens Caherbarnagh side defeating Laxie. Next Tureen took on the hotly fancied Umerboy side, who proved too strong for Denis Murphy's charges. Tadhg Longs Carrigaline side were last to play defeating Laxie and ending there chances of reaching the final. 
    The match up between Umerboy and Caherbarnagh promised to be the game of the tournament and it didn't disappoint. Caherbarnagh ran out 1 point victors in a trilling game leaving Umerboy to wait the result of the final game to see if they would reach the final. In the final league game Tureen defeated Carrigaline but Carrigaline qualify to the final ahead of Umerboy with a better scoring difference. 

    The final between Carrigaline and Caherbarnagh was played in worsening weather conditions, with the men from the mountain strong favorites. Carrigaline started well with some great points by Tadgh Long and Danny Cooper. A fantastic goal from Tomas Cooper had Caherbarnagh reeling with a half time score of 1-6 to 2 in favor of Carrigaline. Caherbarnagh came out strong in the second half closing the lead to 3 points, but the goal that they needed evaded them, with heroic defence from Carrigaline. Carrigaline ran out winners by 3 points.

Later that evening the presentation was held in The Fairfield Tavern. Gene MacSweeny present training tops sponsored by Tex's Taxi. 

     Winning Team -
  • Tadgh Long (Captain)
  • Jerry Carroll
  • Donncha Hickie 
  • Shane O' Donoghue
  • Andrew Sheehan
  • Tomas Cooper
  • Danny Cooper
  • Brian Hickey

    Team Managers
  • Jerry Long
  • Danny Brosnan

    Young Player of the Tournament - Andrew Sheehan 

    Most Valuable Player - Danny Cooper

    Non - Playing Most Valuable Player - Donncha Hickie 

Well done to Tim Murphy and Sean Sheehan who organised the event. Thanks to Eddie Walsh who refereed all the games and Tex's Taxi for sponsorship. Finally thanks to everyone who participated.